A Pinterest Challenge!

Over on Young House Love they are having a fun Pinterest challenge.   The challenge is simple, make a project inspired by something you pinned on Pinterest.  You can read more about the challenge here.

Because I have a plethora of “pin”spiration on my boards, I decided this challenge was a great form of motivation  This is the pin that I chose to tackle.

Tutorial on Jewely Display/Holder

Original project is from: theborrowedabode.com.  You can go to her website for a tutorial on how she built her jewelry holder.

Here is how I mine together.

What you’ll need:

1. An old window frame, without glass.  2. Ceiling hooks.   3. Knobs  4. Crochet Thread  5. Drawer pulls that form a cup when attached upside down.

How to Assemble:

I decided to leave the window exactly how I got it.  I could say I left it this way because I loved the rustic worn out look (which I kinda do).  But really, the truth is I hate sanding a painting….. so I left it.

First, I layer out all the hooks and knobs onto the window and marked where I needed to screw them in.

Then, I attached the ceiling hooks.  They were easy, they screwed in by hand.

Next, I drilled the holes for the drawer pulls, and attached them.

 

 

 

 

 

I did the same for the knobs.

A little side note here, I had to buy longer screws for the knobs because the ones that came with them were too short.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I would say the hardest part of the whole process was the string, I had to recruit my husbands help to figure this one out.

Using a level we marked a spot on each outside frame and the middle divider.  Then, we attached the smallest drill bit we had and made a small hole at an angle on the outside frames and straight through the middle divider.

 

 

 

 

 

I ran crochet thread through a big needle and pulled it through the holes tying a knot on both sides.

I don’t really know if crochet thread is the best thing to use for this, but it’s what I had on hand.

 

 

 

 

 

The end project looks like this!

If you’d like to see what the founders of the Pinterest Challenge have completed, you can check them out here: Katie’s, Emily’s, Lana’s, and Sherry’s.

About Chandra

Two crafty sisters sharing their projects with a couple crazy dog stories thrown in for good measure.
This entry was posted in Decorations, For the Home, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Pinterest Challenge!

  1. Kristen says:

    That looks great! What a cool way to organize your jewelry!

  2. Hey, this looks awesome!! I’m totally flattered to know my project inspired one of the Pinterest challenges 🙂

Leave a Reply

